Roush Protofab Mustang #04

1985 IMSA GTO Champion

Built in 1984 by Roush-Protofab, this historic car won its first race, the September 1984 IMSA Daytona 3 hour National Championship, driven by Wally Dallenbach, Jr. and Willy T. Ribbs.  It then won again in GTO in its next race, the 1985 24 Hours of Daytona, driven by John Jones, Wally Dallenbach, Jr., and Doc Bundy, finishing eighth overall.  John Jones drove the car to seven more GTO victories in 1985, including the Twelve Hours of Sebring, where he and Dallenbach finished sixth overall.  Other victories included Road Atlanta, Riverside, Watkins Glen, Mid-Ohio, Road America, and the Daytona 3 hour National Championship for the second straight year, where Jones co-drove with Lyn St. James.  The car won the 1985 IMSA GTO Championship for Jones, and the 1985 IMSA GTO Manufacturer's Championship for Ford.

The car was sold to multiple SCCA National Champion Jerry Hansen prior to the 1986 season, in whose hands it won several SCCA National events. 

In 1987, the car was purchased by Bruce Nesbitt and returned to professional racing, this time in the SCCA Trans-Am series.  In 1987, Nesbitt posted six top ten finishes, and a seventh place in the season point standings.  In 1988, the car again placed in the top ten six times, while qualifying in the Fast Five on a number of occasions.  From 1989 to 1994, the car was run only occasionally, until which time the body was converted to the later model Mustang body. From 1995 through 1998, Nesbitt raced the car in 21 more SCCA Trans-Am events, earning several more top ten finishes, and several series performance awards. 

Recently, this veteran of over 100 professional races has been fully restored to its 1985 Championship configuration, and is currently available for sale.  Inquiries may be made to